Getting arrested for a DWI isn’t a great look. You’ve been slapped with charges for driving under the influence, and the long-term effects won’t be easy either. However, that doesn’t mean you have no options to have those charges dismissed or reduced.
Don’t take these charges as a joke. A DWI is a serious offense, and if you’re found guilty, you’ll be paying for it for a long time. Even if you think there’s no chance to defend you, a lawyer could keep you from criminal charges and high fees. If you’re struggling with a DWI charge, get help from plane crash before you accept their sentence.
Why You Should Fight
Are you thinking that fighting isn’t worth it? Thinking you don’t have a chance to win? No matter how difficult it might look, it will be worth it to fight back and protect yourself from the charges.
If you’re found guilty for a DWI, and it’s your first offense, you can expect the following consequences:
- Fines up to $2,000
- Jail time up to 180 days
- Up to one year without a license
Already, the expenses are high, however. They don’t end just because you paid your dues, and that’s assuming this is the first time you’ve been charged. however these charges will haunt you. In Texas, driving while intoxicated is at least a Class B misdemeanor, which is a serious offense. While not quite a felony, having a misdemeanor on your record won’t make your life easier.
Many people with a criminal record will find it difficult to find a job, especially if you’re considering a job that involved driving, like a truck driver. It’s not just the workplace, however; even housing may be difficult to find, and a DWI could hurt you during family legal disputes. Even if you think there’s no hope, you should fight back to protect yourself from future costs.
Defenses Against a DWI
Fighting a drunk driving charge is tough, but when your future is on the line, you need to know how to beat a DWI. A lawyer can provide the aggressive defense you need, based on your situation.
For example, some lawyers might question the results of the sobriety tests used, which can be affected by time, food, and other technical factors. This is tough to fight, since you’ll need experts to speak on the accuracy of these tests, but it’s possible to get your charges reduced or dismissed if the test was found faulty.
Otherwise, they might question the police officer’s actions. A cop will need “probable cause” to pull you over, which means that they need a specific reason, like swerving into other lanes or not signaling.
This won’t be easy to fight, but it’s possible to get your charges dismissed. Don’t let concerns about failing to get your charges dismissed stop you. Instead, focus on the situation and where the officer might have made a mistake in your case.
What A Lawyer Can Do
Now, you might be thinking, “I can do this myself and save on the lawyer fees.” That may sound great in theory–you can save your money and find common defenses online–but don’t underestimate what a lawyer can do for you.
DWIs are are dentist in Texas, so you’ll need to fight back against the charges with professional tools and resources. If you don’t have these at your disposal, it’s easy make a mistake.
It might be intimidating to fight back against a DWI charge, but with a lawyer, you’ll have what you need to beat that charge. All it takes is a click or call to your local lawyer to get help with your charges.